Anne Frank House
For more than two years Anne Frank and her family lived in hiding in the annex of the building at Prinsengracht 263 where Anne’s father, Otto Frank, had his business. The Van Pels family and Fritz Pfeffer were in hiding with them. The doorway to the annex was concealed behind a moveable bookcase constructed especially for this purpose. The office personnel knew of the hiding place and helped the eight people by supplying them with food and news from the outside world. On August 4, 1944, the hiding place was betrayed. The people in hiding were deported to various concentration camps. Only Otto Frank survived the war. Nowadays, the rooms at the Anne Frank House, though empty, still breathe the atmosphere of the hiding period. Quotations from the diary, historical documents, photographs, film images, and original objects that belonged to those in hiding and the helpers illustrate the events that took place. Anne’s original diary and other notebooks are on display in the museum. In the multimedia area, visitors can go on a “virtual journey” through the Anne Frank House, obtaining background information about the people in hiding and about World War II. A contemporary exhibition is presented in the exhibition hall.